Nippon CHIP KIDD Japanese Book Cover Design

Book Cover Designer CHIP KIDD in Japan

Last March (2013) Chip Kidd was invited to appear at the Tokyo International Literary Festival in Japan. He was interviewed by the Japanese website, NIPPON. Their tagline is “Your Doorway To Japan”, and that’s pretty cool! The interview can be read by clicking HERE!

While there, Chip Kidd participated in a lecture Series where he explained his thoughts on “Book Cover Design”, his early love of Japanese Pop Culture, Designing Tezuka Osamu's Buddha for Vertical, Unearthing the Japanese Batman Bat-Manga, and also his thoughts on the Author Murakami Haruki and the Future of Book Design.

The overall experience of being back in Japan was sort of overwhelming. I mean, it’s such a beautiful place that you just never NEVER want to leave and it’s always sad to do so. Japan is completely beautiful.

Chip Kidd Batman Comic Book Art Bat-Manga

BUDDHA Chip Kidd Graphic Novel Book Covers

Chip Kidd Books on Display in a Japanese Bookstore in Japan!

Here’s a quick post to share this fun photo taken by Chip Kidd while he was visiting Japan. At random, he sort of walked into a Japanese Bookstore and discovered that they had a special section just for him! Yes, some Bookstore Employee must be a big fan because he set-up a special display area that features books written by Chip and/or with book covers designed by him… pretty cool huh?! WOW, What an honor!! (We Love Japan!)

Oh hey, if you want to see a huge amount of Book jackets designed by Chip Kidd then please be sure to visit our GALLERY PAGE, just click here.

Haruki Murakami Documentary Movie In Search of This Elusive Writer

Check out this cool video that is a great documentary about a reporter’s difficult search for the celebrated Japanese Book Author, Haruki Murakami. I just discovered this beautiful gem on YouTube the other night and I knew I had to post it because every fan of Murakami is going to enjoy watching it. In fact, if you have never heard of his books, then you should watch it, because afterwards… you will love him.

 

On April 12th, 2013, Haruki Murakami’s new novel was unveiled at midnight in Japan with excited fans queuing up to get their latest fix. Since then the book has done extremely well in that country. In Japan the book is known as, "Shikisai wo Motanai Tazaki Tsukuru to Kare no Junrei no Toshi". The official English title for the Japanese-language book is "Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage".

Chip Kidd 1960's Batman Japanese Bat-Manga Book Japan

Over at THE SPHINX Blog they did a series of articles where they deeply examine Chip Kidd’s book, “BAT-MANGA: The Secret History of Batman in Japan“. You remember this book, it featured very detailed reprints of long lost manga comic book stories of Batman and Robin that were illustrated/written by Jiro Kuwata in the 1960′s. Great stuff!!

Well, THE SPHINX does a great job at breaking down and analogizing many of the individual panels and does so with a sort of a tongue-in-cheek snarky humor, it’s fun! Now, we’re linking to PART ONE and while there please be sure to view their left side-bar for Parts 2, 3 and 4. Hey, you’ll be both entertained and rewarded!

HEY! Also, if you would like an Autographed Copy of BATMAN BAT-MANGA signed by Chip Kidd then please CLICK HERE!

Japanese 1960's Batman and Robin Bat-Manga History Japan Chip Kidd Book

 

CHIP KIDD TED TALKS Speech about Designing Book Appears on Japan TV

We’re proud to announce that last week Chip Kidd’s TED TALKS Speech, “Designing Books Is No Laughing Matter. OK, It Is”, appeared on Japanese television in an episode of SUPER PRESENTATION on April 8th, 2013. This TV Show was created in connection with TED TALKS to help, not only spread great ideas, but also to teach English to Students in Japan.

Basically, What they do, is they take the huge library of famous TED speeches and show them subtitled in Japanese while Students listen to them in English. It’s a great concept and if you’re curious what the show looked like you can visit their site to watch it, please CLICK HERE!

Haruki Murakami Japanese Book Author

Yes, you read the title of this post correctly, the eagerly-awaited new novel from Haruki Murakami is set for release in Japan on Friday (that’s tomorrow!) will have an initial hardback print run of half a million copies!

The new book’s title is only available in Japanese for now and is titled, “Shikisai wo Motanai Tazaki Tsukuru to Kare no Junrei no Toshi”. An unofficial translation in English gives it the title, “Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki and the Year of his Pilgrimage”.

The new novel is expected to hit bookstores on Friday, April 12th, with major outlets planning to open early at 8:00 am, while at least one large seller in Tokyo flung open its doors at midnight on Thursday (see photo down below).

Haruki Murakami Book selling in Japan Bookstore

Publishing house Bungeishunju Ltd. said, “Online book giant AMAZON JAPAN had received more than 20,000 pre-orders for the new novel as of Saturday, faster than any other book by Murakami.”

Half a million copies is the largest initial hardback print run for the Japanese publisher, one of the country’s biggest.

It will be Murakami’s first work in three years after the final installment of “1Q84″. That book, which can be read as “1984″ in Japanese, proved to be a worldwide phenomenon. As a side note we should mention that Chip Kidd designed the cover for the Knopf edition of 1Q84.

One last thing, we apologize for not mentioning the designer’s name of the cover to this new book. At the time of this writing we didn’t have that information.

Source: PanARMENIAN.Net

Japan Tokyo International Literary Festival 2013 Chip Kidd

Chip Kidd Name in Japanese

Chip Kidd Japan Tokyo International Literary Festival 2013 Books

About 2 weeks ago, as a part of Japan’s 2013 Tokyo International Literary Festival , the book cover designer Chip Kidd gave a talk at the Rainy Day Bookstore in Minami, Aoyama. He discussed current Book Cover Design, Graphic Art Influences, and his love of Japanese Culture. But this post was done to share this wonderful photo taken by Naoko Takano. Her personal blog has many other photos to see and some nice information too. To view it, please CLICK HERE!

BAT-MANGA The History of Batman in Japan Chip Kidd Autographed Book Signed Edition

Here’s some Book Retail News that is sure to please Fans of both Chip Kidd and Batman, the Caped Crusader! Over at the ultra-awesome TFAW website they are selling Chip Kidd’s “BAT-MANGA: The Secret History of Batman in Japan” as a special Autographed Signed-Edition! This book is limited to 500 copies and for a short time it’s price is marked 17% OFF! So, Please be sure to get yours today, just CLICK HERE!

Toshokan Sensou Library Wars Anime Book Movie

Here’s a post that is both “book-related” and wacky! There’s a new movie in Japan, titled LIBRARY WARS, that is based on the Manga Graphic Novel stories by Toshokan Sensou. Now, this series of books have already been made into an animated TV Show, the graphic up above is an example of that. But wait! Now it’s a LIVE-ACTION MOVIE!

Library Wars the Movie Japanese Film Japan

The film tells the story of Kasahara Iku, the first woman to join the Library Task Force. In the near future in Japan, the Media Enhancement Law has been forced upon the population censoring all books and media. To counter this, the Library Defense Force was created. To protect themselves against the Media Enhancement Law Commission, all major libraries are fully equipped with a military Task Force, who take it upon themselves to protect the books and freedom of media of the people. This anime follows Iku and her fellow soldiers as they protect various special books and artifacts from the oppression of the Media Enhancement Law Commission. A love story, war story, and comedy all rolled into one.

Check out the new Movie Trailer down below: